Cruel World

 

My absolute favorite from the album. The first listen, the song didn’t appeal to me. Took me awhile to fall in love with this song. Listening to this feels like sitting in one of those rides in the theme park that spins you round and round, then it only gets faster and makes you feel dizzier until towards the end when the spinning slows down and you walk out of it feeling all wobbly.

I’m bad in identifying musical instruments in a music piece, besides the drums; cymbals and the guitar. The way I’d describe the instrumentals all the way to the chorus would be: the song started out with the distinct strumming of the electric guitar. One strum after another, you’ll start to hear the sound of the drums as the pre-chorus moves in. When the chorus is sung, you hear the sound of cymbals hitting against each other beat by beat.

Lana starts the song, singing in her usual melancholy voice, with occasional pauses, and her voice is crisp clear. The pre-chorus, below, feels like the verge of “losing it”. The juxtaposition of the “bible” and the “gun” placed in the same line and possessing both of these contradicting items at the same time – one that is supposedly used for salvation, the other used for a complete opposite purpose. The way I’d interpret these lyrics is that she’s trying to get back at the guy for the love that was never returned, or betrayed.

Got your bi-ble, got your gunnn
And you like to par-ty and have fun
And I like my can-dy and your wo-men
I’m finally hap-py, now that you’re gone

Then the coarseness of the voice creeps in the chorus part.

Put my little red party dress on
Everybody knows I’m the best, I’m crazyyyyy
Get alil bit of Bourbon in ya
Get alil bit of suburban and go crazyyyyy
Because you’re young, you’re wild, you’re free
You’re dancing circles around me
You’re fucking crazy, you’re crazy around me

Maybe it’s the sense of helpless and self-abandonment that appeals to the listeners. There are the highs and lows. Though I can’t relate abit to this song at all, like one cannot feel depressive about something that haven’t happened to them. What I like about this song is how the instrumentals and lyrics complemented each another, how it’s churned out in a mix well enough to produce the intended feel.

Yes, the music or the lyrics aren’t rhythmically catchy the way most pop songs in the billboard charts do. I would also agree that some of the other songs in this album would sound more pleasant, in both their music and lyrics. But there’s just something about Cruel World that makes it stands out from the rest.

Say something!

