being appreciative.

Recently, I came across a video of a girl who talks about how she isn’t proud to be a citizen of her home country and it’s only then I realized that so many of us, the young people in this country, aren’t happy (or even grateful) for what we already have.

We complain about the lack of opportunities we could have if we aren’t raised in Singapore, but is it really true that it’s ultimately impossible to achieve them even if we work hard enough? Or are we just trying to use the system as an excuse for our lack of conviction and efforts to look for those opportunities and grab hold onto them? Do we really prefer to be elsewhere, only then can we achieve our dreams? It’s sort of becoming a revolution for us to already think about migrating, to rather be a second-class citizen of another country, than to spend the rest of their lives in Singapore. While the people in other countries are migrating here to become citizens. What’s wrong with this world now?

Probably it’s true that people who have less tend to be more thankful. They cherish what they already have. All of us have demands, but they probably work for it more than they talk about it aloud. The luxury of having the means to blow it up on media. They are still more happy with what they already have than fretting over what they don’t have. Do they blame circumstances as much as we do?

What does it mean to be grateful? Is it by not speaking up on how defective the circumstances are? Or is gratitude just that warm, fuzzy feeling you get in your heart? Is it by witnessing how unfortunate others are as compared to yourself, only then you’ll feel grateful?

It’s half-past three, my eyes are burning – explains why this post ended abruptly.

2 thoughts on “being appreciative.

  1. This is a very thought-provoking post.

    There’s an old saying that I’ve lived my life by: “I cried because I had no shoes until I met a man who had no feet.” Someone once told me that to compare my life to others (to be grateful because there’s also someone out there who has it worse) is not a good way to live, but it’s worked for me. I’m far from a fluffy white-lighter (what my friends and I call people who think the world is full of nothing but love and happiness), but I do believe that things can always be worse, and I’m always grateful that things are not… if that makes any sense.

    Like

    • Hey! Thanks for sharing your views 🙂 The quote you shared triggers me to think that the unfortunate ones aren’t just the ones who want something but don’t have it, but also the ones who can’t have that ‘want’ to begin with.

      The same way as you do, I do think that way as well… I understand why you say that we shouldn’t be living our lives feeling good about our present situation (being grateful) knowing that there are people who are worse off than we are. I know that gratitude should come from within us, not otherwise. However, that reason seems to be the most logical way to explain for gratitude.

      Like

Say something!

