Daily Prompt: Inside the Actor’s Studio

Daily Prompt posts: On the interview show Inside the Actors’ Studio, host James Lipton asks each of his guests the same ten questions. What are your responses?

1. What is your favorite word?

The word ‘Paradise‘ came to me. A hell-colored flame sky. I first came across this figure of speech in the lyrics of two songs.

Velvet Crowbar by Lana Del Rey:

“Flame colored paradise for you darling,
but death doesn’t come with a warning.”

Angels Forever by Lana Del Rey:

“Paradise is a hell-colored flame sky.

Those lyrics have become my favorite ever since I heard them – especially those lyrics for ‘Velvet Crowbar‘. The literal illustration of Heaven is not too unconvincing. Heaven does look flamed when you’re looking up the sky from Earth.

Later, I found that the phrase originated from Nabokov’s novel, Lolita ; “… a paradise whose skies were the color of hell-flames – but still a paradise.”

Paradise – a heaven of temptations.

2. What is your least favorite word?

I really don’t have a least favorite word for now!

3. What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally?

-When I’m listening to the really good music I love!
-When I go to somewhere I’ve never been before, where the foreignness of the place amazes me.

4. What turns you off? 

Impatient, rude people.

5. What is your favorite curse word?

“Damn!”, “Ugh!”

6. What sound or noise do you love?

-I love a cat’s meow, tuned to ‘meek’ mode.
-I love classical music played on orchestral instruments in any theatrical venue.

7. What sound or noise do you hate?

-A wailing baby, or a screaming toddler.
-Sound effects in a horror film.
-Loud, chattery teenagers on public transportation.

8. What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?

I want to be a journalist for a newspaper or a magazine, preferably literary magazines. It’s always exciting to showcase your work! Whether it’s art, music, sports or writing.

It seems very tedious to pen an one-page article in a magazine, or even less than that. But it’s all worth the wait when it gets read by the rest of the world. I’m nowhere near to a stone’s throw away to achieving the kind of quality in the writings we read in the newspapers / magazines every day, but it’s one profession I would love to attempt ; publishing something I can call it as my own. And just for once, it will be a dream come true!

9. What profession would you not like to do?

A Math teacher.

10.  If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates?

I hope God will welcome me into Heaven. Death alone is a scary thing because you don’t know if your soul dies off with your living body, or to somewhere else. The validity of Science just stops there because living people discovered Science and study them while they’re still alive, not in the afterworld. We only know what will really happen to us when we experience it ourselves.

What I imagine the afterworld to be a place like the High Court. Its purpose is for one to wait for his/her verdict – before it decides whether he/she is going to Hell or the realms in Heaven. A torturous wait. The last big wait. Right now, I don’t know if I’m more qualified towards either one of those. I hope I’m not denying the fact that I’m more prone to one than the other.

Something I’m not hoping God will tell me is that I left behind many regrets and “you could have done this”. I hope he will tell me that I’ve done what I wanted to do and was meant to do – that’d be an assurance and all I need to hear from him.

9 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Inside the Actor’s Studio

Say something!

