Daily Prompt: Community Service | An open letter!

Daily Prompt post: Your entire community — however you define that; your hometown, your neighborhood, your family, your colleagues — is guaranteed to read your blog tomorrow. Write the post you’d like them all to see.

How should I begin this… I have a favor to ask from each one of you who knows me personally. Please don’t tell me you’ve read my blog the next time we see each other, whether it’s the next morning during breakfast time, the following day at work or either anytime of the day ; on the off chance we meet along the streets. I wouldn’t know how to respond and react to that statement.

Maybe ‘thank you for taking the time to read my blog’. And if there’s anything you’re curious about, I’m opened to questions – I’d be able to answer a query or two.

To my family, especially Mom:

Mom, I’m sorry for being so rude to you all the time. Many things have happened this year and of course I do notice that my attitude towards you have changed. Where did my basic respect go? – I do ask myself this, like you do remind me again and again.

In several occasions, you were asking for my help and I’d raise my voice to answer you and fidget, to indicate that I was annoyed. There were times when I thought I was being completely reasonable for getting angry at you for telling me off in an unreasonable manner ; hurling the usual insults and putting me down by digging into the fact that I’m unlike any other person of my age – who would be driven to grab opportunities wherever possible, young and active, enthusiastic and zealous, responsive and intelligent, and that ‘how in any way am I a female?’ when I’m so dirty (in terms of hygiene) and an untidy person who could remain completely ignorant and go about what I do in an environment resembling a pigsty.

I would try to reason with you – which you’d call that as “talking back”. Whether or not you were being reasonable in telling me off, I feel regretful for responding to you in a harsh way. I’ve become the kind of kid I dislike. I can’t imagine being a parent with a kid / kids like myself. I need to curb that temper of mine which I’m only capable of flaring it up infront of you. There shouldn’t be a next time, no next time-s. If there happens to be a next-time, please use this to remind me again of my promise.

To my colleagues, acquaintances or friends:

I’m thankful that most of the people I know have been a great sport! I haven’t been one who’s extremely keen to participate in social interactions, it might have put some of you off. But it’s not my intention to be rude. I never intend to be selective with the people I hang out with – sometimes, the topics talked about evoke more familiarity than the others. And humor!

I don’t what else to address to all of you. Only a couple of people I know and I’m close with, know this blog is in existence. It’s like I want all of you to understand me better from what I write, but at the same time, I fear getting judged by you for what I’ve written. If everyone of you finds out about my blog, I won’t know what else to write about. I have to watch my words, can’t make it sound too personal to anyone I know of who reads my blog… But before you should read any further on, here’s a disclaimer note I’d like you to see –

Everything you read here, whether they’re events or people I’ve talked about, are completely fictitious. Any resemblance to actual events or people, is purely coincidental.

5 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Community Service | An open letter!

Say something!

