Run Boy Run.

A day ago, I came across Woodkid’s music while I was searching for a specific live performance by Lana Del Rey and Woodkid – where they sang ‘Iron’ (Woodkid’s debut single) together. I listened to it for the first time a few months back, but her live vocals tend to get me back on YouTube now and then, tracing after my favorite live performances.

Woodkid has always been known to me as the director of Lana’s first professionally-directed music video, ‘Born To Die‘.

Today, I was browsing through the songs sung by himself, solo. I even downloaded a few. I don’t remember the first official album track I listened to but the first time listening to his voice in a song just wasn’t enough (He’s French, so maybe that could be one of the reasons). He has a strongly-accented, deep voice which made his songs turn out to be so cinematic. A couple of his album / EP tracks would be perfect to use in literature, theatrical works / films! It’s like one of those movie tracks you listen to it for the first and only one time in a movie screening, and you just can’t wait to get home to look up on the song title, get it played again and then it’s good to go on your playlist!

So far, among less than 5 Woodkid’s songs I have listened to, I really love ‘Brooklyn’ and ‘Run Boy Run’. Both are lyrically, nicely-written songs –

Brooklyn‘ gives the whole serene feeling ; you imagine yourself sipping coffee outside the tables of a French cafe which is facing the Eiffel Tower and reminiscing your home back in America (I guess that’s what the song is about).

Run Boy Run‘ – between the two, I’d pick this as my favorite! Mainly because of the beats and the background instrumentals to it. Also, the lyrics do mean something which explains for the metaphor:-

“Run boy run! The sun will be guiding you.
Run boy run! They’re dying to stop you.
Run boy run! This race is a prophecy.
Run boy run! Break out from society.”

Most songs love to repeat the chorus (which comprise of title of the song + the same, few lines) throughout whole song 2 – 3 times. But in this song, I like how in each chorus involves different lines after the repetitive “Run Boy Run”. And, these lines aren’t just randomly dumped into the song, with every word implying something to urge the boy to do what he’s told – keep running:

“Run boy run! This world is not made for you
                    // They’re trying to catch you
                   // Running is a victory
                   // Beauty lays behind the hills”

I’d love to talk more about it but I got to go to bed now, x Here’s the official music video to ‘Run Boy Run’:

Say something!

