Daily Prompt: Groundhog Day

Daily Prompt post: In the comedy “Groundhog Day” Bill Murray experienced the same day again and again, stuck in a time loop until he got the day “right.” What day would you choose to repeat until you got it right? Do you think it’s ever possible to get life “right”?

‘Groundhog Day’ is a term I’ve been mentioning in a couple of entries I’ve posted up since I started blogging on WordPress! And it’s finally a Daily Prompt topic for today!

To pick a day out of the life I’ve been living for 18 years and 8 months to repeat every day is really difficult. What does it mean to get life “right”? 

Maybe it’s about the things in life – like my usual school assignments, an academic subject, an exam, tasks and duties at work, it takes alot, and alot of practice to get it right. But sometimes (and many times), I don’t get them right because some of these things require more than just practicing and doing it over and over again until it becomes a routine, rather than something you need use your brain and consider before doing it. 

As you get older, the more you start to realize you start to screw things up. Like I didn’t used to think I was that clumsy and actually possess nothing but just incapability in doing many things. Having a talent / skill or even some form of basic ability to do the best that I can without messing things up didn’t matter to me when I was a kid because I could hold onto some possibility – even though it was faint and dim, you could endlessly dream of becoming anything and probably expecting some positive changes in your life.

Then you start to limit your expectations when you grow up because you know yourself better and what you’ll become in the future. So living the same day every day isn’t really ideal when you aren’t doing things right but you realize you’re doing it wrongly every day. But I guess I should also be thankful that I experience so many setbacks; careless, silly, senseless and pointless ones, which grants me every step closer to getting life “right”, even though they’re rather quite insignificant ones.

The things in life constitutes a figment of my life. Do I think it’s possible to get “life” right? I don’t think living Groundhog Day every day will lead anyone to getting “life” right – just maybe a momentum form of success.

But what does it mean to get life “right”?  Personally, and right now, I think getting life “right” is to be:

– Be happy,

– Seeing the positive in everything,

– Staying optimistic throughout your lifetime,

– Commit to something you believe in,

– Having the courage to stand up for everything you stand for (especially that; because when I don’t, it makes me feel at my worst. What do I stand for and why am I not committing to what I believe in? What you could do but you refuse to because of my self-limitations. I can’t rely on any spur, it just have to come from within me. And I need to overcome this.)

7 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Groundhog Day

Say something!

