Daily Prompt: Your Life, the Book

Daily Prompt postFrom a famous writer or celebrity, to a WordPress.com blogger or someone close to you — who would you like to be your biographer?

I would like Lana Del Rey to be my biographer.

A short introduction to this amazing artist:- She is an American singer and she sings alot about her love, hollywood, Lolita, America and just the 1940 to 50’s era. There’re just so many songs she have written over the years; besides the ones she released on her official albums. They reflect a sort of naivety, innocence, joy and just so little of angst, hatred or extreme negative emotions. She sings alot about past memories and you could actually imagine and think of how it’d be like to be in her shoes when you listen to her voice and the words she used in the songs. But what the critics say is that her songs reflect sadness and regretful feelings – which is true as well and I thought it could probably be a sequel to her singing about the past (happy) memories of her love. She enjoys reading and there’re plenty of references from Walt Whitman, Oscar Wilde to Vladimir Nabokov in the songs she wrote (i.e. Body ElectricGods & MonstersOff to the RacesLolita)

[Source]

But I can’t say I can relate to her because what I experienced is entirely different from hers -when I feel frustrated or worthless, I just listen to Marina & The Diamonds because she sings what I feel and it makes me feel better so much better to know that I’m not alone. And I do feel that she actually felt like this once.

Then why Lana Del Rey? Having to listen to her music and know her better through various media platforms like news articles, interviews, her social network sites, etc., there’s this impression she gives me – that she feels appreciative about life and the people involved, which she describes life as “a beautiful sad song“.

Then again, I would like her to document my life because personally, I think her writings evoke more feelings than sense. I want to feel how I’m like in her words, instead of finding sense in words because having to do that will be just plainly describing what I appear and seem to others. I think it’ll be quite an interesting perspective for me to see myself in her eyes. But at the same time, as truthful as I want to be myself and feel good about it when I meet my favorite artists or I could say, attractive people as well, I can’t deny there’s a conscious part of me which fears ruining my impression in her eyes because afterall, these are the people you look up to.

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Your Life, the Book

Say something!

