Daily Prompt: Shape Up or Ship Out

Daily Prompt post: Write a letter* to the personality trait you like least, convincing it to shape up or ship out. Be as threatening, theatrical, or thoroughly charming as is necessary to get the job done.

Dear Self-Esteem,

Do you know how many opportunities I could have taken if only you were stronger on your own? Since I was born till now, you seem to get worst than anyone else’s could have gotten. Damn, you screwed up so many things and impressions! I wish I could get you replaced but I can’t because you’re just trapped inside. I guess it’s a mutual feeling for both of us to get out of one another.

Sometimes, you got me mixed up with who am I actually. Merely just an introvert and perfectly normal like anyone else in the society? Or am I experiencing self-shame and sadness no one else can see because you’ve gotten the best of me?

I really did try to see the world through an optimistic lens. Once in awhile, it gets blurry; like the mist you get on your normal spectacle lens’ surface when you drink up the hot cup of coffee in the morning. Then it gets blurrer and blurrer because that world I see is beyond what I see and experience every other day and I seem to be living Groundhog Day every day, going through the same routine over and over again. Wait, I think I’ve gotten out of point, but the thing I’m driving at you is that you need to be strong and progress as I get older. But it seems not the case because you seems to be doing it the vice-versa way.

Then I tried to tell you that it’ll probably get better, and life will change when you get older and when I grow up. And I got older and expectations got higher – “you’re a youth, go out and make some (positive) noise! Make an impact! Do it while you’re young!”, then it made me feel like I’m an unemployed who lives off Mom for almost half of his/her lifetime or someone who’s going into retirement and plans to live at home for the last 10 or 20 years of his/her lifetime. Maybe things will change, I will wait and I do agree I’ll need to have a lot of patience for good things to come in the way.

Let’s just work together to live this through, xx

With Regards, SY

*would seem more like a hate letter; but really, no hatred intended, just venting out frustrations

Say something!

